About Tajikistan

Tajikistan is  a country in Central Asia, located in the foothills of the Pamir Mountains  and has no access to the sea. It borders with Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan to the north and west, China to the east, Afghanistan - to the south.

Capital - the city of Dushanbe.

Tajikistan - the only Persian-speaking state in former Soviet Central Asia.

Population: 79.9% - Tajiks (speak the Tajik language), 17% - Uzbeks, 1.3% - Kirghiz, less than 1% - Russian.

Religion – Sunni Islam. 

Tajikistan was created in 1924, as an autonomous republic within the Uzbek SSR.

The main specialization of the Tajikistan  was the cotton industry. Meanwhile, in 60-70 years have created new industries - engineering, textile, electrical, chemical industry, as well as hydropower. 

As a result of the collapse of the Soviet Union, Tajikistan became independent in 1991.

Tajikistan - a presidential republic.

Since 1994, the President is Emomali Rahmon, re-elected in 1999 and 2006. Legislative power is held by the Parliament - Majlisi Oli. 

The climate in the country is  continental with large daily and seasonal fluctuations in air temperature, low rainfall, dry air and low clouds. The average January temperature ranges from + 2 ... -2 ° C in the valleys and foothills of the south-west and the north of the republic to -20 ° C and falls below the Pamirs. The absolute minimum temperature reaches -63 ° C in the Pamirs (Bulunkul).

The average July temperature of 30 ° C in the lower valleys of the south-west to 0 ° C and below in the Pamirs. The absolute maximum temperature is 48 ° C (Nizhny Panj). In rare cases, the temperature reaches 60 ° C. 

Tajikistan  is a country with an ancient culture and traditions. An important role in Tajik culture play music and dance.  Traditions of Tajik-Persian poetry, prose, manuscript, miniature count  several centuries.