Information about Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan is an amazing mountainous country located in the heart of Central Asia.

Almost 90% of the country lies above 1,500 meters, the average height is 2750 m, the highest point being  7439 m (Pobeda Peak) and  the lowest 401 m (Leilek district). The climate is continental.   It seems that the whole country has spread over the mighty and ancient mountain ranges of the Tien Shan and Pamir-Alai. Kyrgyzstan's main wealth is its pristine pure nature, which managed to bring together the ridges and valleys, alpine meadows and snow-capped peaks, fast rivers and mountain lakes.

In Kyrgyzstan, there are more than 6,500 glaciers, from which originate more than 28 thousand rivers and sources. On the territory of Kyrgyzstan are located Central Asia's largest forest reserves, which have preserved rare animals such as the snow leopard and argali.

But the true natural treasure of republic is alpine Issyk-Kul Lake, located at an altitude of 1606 m above sea level.

In 1991 Kyrgyzstan received the sovereignty and declared itself an independent state. The total area of the republic is 198.5 thousand square km. The territory is divided into seven regions - Chui, Talas, Issyk-Kul, Naryn, Osh, Jalal-Abad and Batken.

Capital - Bishkek city has the population of about one million inhabitants.

The total number of the country's population is 5 million people.

Official language is Kyrgyz.

Russian language has official status.

In the north, Kyrgyzstan is bordered by Kazakhstan, in the east - with China, in the south - with Tajikistan, in the west - with Uzbekistan.